Alpenkorps May 1915

Generalleutnant Krafft von DelmensingenFollowing the breaking off of diplomatic relationships between Austria and Italy, the German high command decided to create a mountain warfare capable formation to assist Austria in the defence of her Southern frontier. This division sized formation was named as the German Alpine Corps (deutsches Alpenkorps). On the 19th of May 1915, Generalleutnant Konrad Krafft von Delmensingen, the former chief of staff of the Bavarian Army and a noted mountain warfare expert was appointed as its first commander. The Alpenkorps was officially founded on the 21st may 1915. After initial formation at Lech in Bavaria the Corps units were already being hurriedly dispatched by rail to the Austrian South Tyrol by the 25th May. The Austro-Hungarian commander in the Tyrol, General der Kavallerie Viktor Dankl had intended that the Alpenkorps would be deployed into the area of Bruneck -Brixen - Bozen- Auer to be used as a highly mobile operational strike force. However orders from the German OHL dated  the 4th of June 1915, stipulated that the Alpenkorps could only remain on Austrian territory as Germany and Italy were not yet at war. After some familiarisation and ski training, the Alpenkorps would spend the next five months deployed in Rayon V in support of Feldmarschalleutnant Ludwig Goiginger's "Pustertal" Division.


The structure of the Alpenkorps (which in reality was a Jäger-Division) was on the 26th May 1915 as follows. Smaller divisional units can be found on the scanned illustration:

Unit Commander
Alpenkorps Generalleutnant Konrad Krafft von Delmensingen
Gstbschef Oberst Freiherr von der Wenge
Bayr. Jäger-Brigade Nr.1 Generalmajor Ludwig Ritter von Tutschek
Bayr. Jäger-Regiment Nr.1 Major Karl Paulus
Jäger-Bataillon Nr.1 Major Franz Spiegel
Jäger-Bataillon Nr.2 Major Hugo Bauernschmitt
Reserve-Jäger-Bataillon Nr.2 Major Rudolf Plötz
Bayr. Infanterie-Leib-Regiment Oberstleutnant Franz Epp
I./ILB Major Max Graf von Bothmer
II./ILB Major z.D. Hannibal Freiherr von Crailsheim (temp.)
III./ILB Major Prinz Heinrich von Bayern
Jäger-Brigade Nr.2 Generalmajor Ernst von Below
Jäger-Regiment Nr.2  
Jäger-Bataillon Nr.10 Major von Rauch
Reserve-Jäger-Bataillon Nr.10 Major von Lattorf
Reserve-Jäger-Bataillon Nr.14 Major Krahmer-Möllenberg
Jäger-Regiment Nr.3 Oberstleutnant Dorr
Bayer. Schneeschuh-Btl.1 Oberstleutnant Steinitzer
Bayer. Schneeschuh-Btl.4 Hauptmann von Winckler
Preuß. Schneeschuh-Btl.2 Hauptmann d.R. Paulcke

Preuß. Schneeschuh-Btl.3

Hauptmann d.L. Ziegenmeyer


Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 201

Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 202
Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 203
Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 204
Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 205
Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 210
Bayer.Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 206
Bayer.Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 207
Bayer.Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 208
Bayer.Gebirgsmachinengewehr-Abteilung 209
Reserve-Maschinengewehr-Abteilung 4
3.Eskadron bayer.Chevauleger-Regiment
Bayer.Gebirgs-Artillerie-Abteilung 2
Feldartillerie-Abteilung 203
Feldartillerie-Abteilung 204 (2 batteries)
Fuß-Artillerie-Batterie 101
Fuß-Artillerie-Batterie 102
Pionier-Kompanie 101
Gebirgs-Minenwerfer-Abteilung 269
Gebirgs-Minenwerfer-Abteilung 270
Gebirgs-Fernsprech-Abteilung 29
Funker-Kommando 12

Both the brigade commanders as well as the corps (division) commander were later holders of the Prussian Order Pour le Mérite and both Krafft von Delmensingen and Ritter von Tutschek were recipients of the Bavarian Military Max Joseph Order.

Ludwig Ritter von Tutschek Ernst von Below

Kriegsgliederung 26th May 1915

Order of Battle 1915 - Click to enlarge

Back to Orders of Battle