Federal Fortress of Mainz 20 July 1866

With the approaching hostilities in the summer of 1866, the federal fortress of Mainz, initially garrisoned predominantly by Austrian and Bavarian troops was declared neutral and a Bavarian governor appointed. With the actual outbreak of hostilities the remaining Prussian elements of the fortress staff and garrison withdrew and the situation regarding the order of battle of the fortress on the 20th of July 1866 is reflected below. Although subjected to some shelling and encirclement the fortress of Mainz did not become a major battlefield and was eventually handed over to the Prussians on the 26th of August 1866. It can be seen that the garrison was indeed a federal affair with various contingents. The Austrian contingent amounted to 15 officers, 14 military officials, 39 non commissioned officers, 1 drummer and 121 private soldiers for a total of 190 personnel. The entire garrison, which included 7 general officers totaled 16,408.

Governor Kgl. Bayer. Generalmajor Ludwig Graf von Rechberg und Rothenlöwen
Attached Staff: Kgl. Bayer. Oberst Nepomuk Freiherr von Müller
Kgl. Bayer. Major Kleeman
Kgl. Bayer. Hauptmann Gustav Waagen
Kurf. Hessischer Oberleutnant von Bardeleben
Kgl. Bayer. Kriegskommissär Peter Bauer
Kgl. Bayer. Regiments-Auditor Christoph Fischbacher
Kgl. Bayer. Sekretär Joseph Wengner
Fortress Command -
Commandant Herzogl. Sachsen-Meiningenscher Oberst Gustav von
Adjutants: Herzogl. Sachsen-Meiningenscher Oberleutnant von Buch
Kgl. Bayer. Oberleutnant Ludwig Schönhammer
Station Headquarters
Station Commander K.k. Oberstleutnant Maximilian Graf Berghe von Trips
Adjutants: K.k. Hauptmann Anton Vest
Kgl. Bayer. Oberleutnant Karl Gundermann
K.k. Miltary Command
Commandant K.k. Oberst Karl Pirner
Artillery Director K.k. Oberst Karl Hofmann von Donnersberg
Engineer Director Kgl. Bayer. Major Gottlieb Kollmann
Field Hospital
Director K.k. Oberstabsarzt Dr. Oswald Bleyle
Commandant K.k. Oberleutnant Julius Egloff
Supply Commissioner K.k. Kommissär Karl Stichenwirth
Fortress Paymaster K.k. Kriegskassier Eduard Przihoda
Garrison Chaplain (Catholic) K.k. geistlicher Rat Johann Nepomuk Cori


Generals and General Staff: Kurf. Hessischer Generalmajor Karl von Loßberg
Kurf. Hessischer Genealmajor Ludwig Freiherr Treusch von Buttlar-Brandenfels
Kurf. Hessischer Generalmajor Friedrich von Specht
Kurf. Hessischer Generalmajor Ernst Coch von Cochenhausen
Kurf. Hessischer Generalmajor Albrecht von Bardeleben
Electoral Hessian Chief of Staff Kurf. Hessischer Major Darapsky
Herzogl. Nassauischer Generalmajor Peter von Hollbach
Kgl.Bayer. Infanterie-Leib-Regiment 1. Bataillon Major Franz Exkart
Kgl.Bayer. 1. Infanterie-Regiment 1. Bataillon Major Franz Dassenreither
Kgl. Württ. 4. Infanterie-Regiment 1. & 2. Batallion Oberst von Burkhardt
Kurf. Hessisches Leib-Garde-Regiment 1. & 2. Batallion Oberst Karl Freiherr Schenck zu Schweinsberg
Kurf. Hessisches 1. Infanterie-Regiment 1. & 2. Batallion Oberstleutnant von Bischoffshausen
Kurf. Hessisches 2. Infanterie-Regiment 1. & 2. Batallion Oberst von Osterhausen
Kurf. Hessisches 3. Infanterie-Regiment 1. & 2. Batallion Oberst von Heimrod
Kurf. Hessisches Schützen-Batallion Major von Oeynhausen
Kurf. Hessisches Jäger-Batallion Major Hofmann
Herzogl. Sachsen-Meiningensches Füsilier-Regiment 1. & 2. Batallion Oberst von Buch
Herzogl. Nassauisches Depot-Bataillon  Oberstleutnant Chelius
Kgl. Hannoversches Legion Hauptmann von Düring
Kurf. Hessisches Garde du Corps Major von Eschwege
Kurf. Hessisches 1. Leib-Husaren-Regiment Oberst von Baumbach
Kurf. Hessisches 2. Husaren-Regiment
Kgl. Bayer. 2. Artillerie-Regiment 2. Fußbatterie Hauptmann Maximilian Freiherr von Branca
Kgl. Bayer. 4. Artillerie-Regiment 2. Fußbatterie Hauptmann Matthäus Schmautz
Kgl. Bayer. 4. Artillerie-Regiment 4. Fußbatterie Hauptmann Oskar Neu
Kgl. Württ. Festungs-Artillerie Hauptmann Cuhorst
Kurf. Hessisches Artillerie 3 Fußbatterien & 1 reit. Batterie Generalmajor von Cochenhausen
Großh. Badische Abteilung Oberleutnant Holtz
Großh. Hessische Abteilung Leutnant Schenk
Herzogl. Nassauisches Depot Hauptmann Menche
K.k. 1. Genie-Regiment ½ Kompagnie
Kgl. Bayer. Genie-Regiment 5. Festungs-Genie-Kompagnie Hauptmann Lorenz Bauer
Kurf. Hessische Pionier-Kompagnie Hauptmann Staehle


Kgl. Bayer Royal Bavarian
K.k. Imperial-Royal (Austrian)
Kurf. Hessische Electoral Hessian
Kgl. Württ.  Royal Württemberg
Großh. Badische Grand Ducal Baden
Großh. Hessische Grand Ducal Hessian
Herzogl. Nassauische Ducal Nassau
Herzogl. Sachsen-Meiningensche Ducal Saxon-Meiningen
Kgl. Hannoversche Royal Hanoverian

Back to Orders of Battle